When Charles Henry Cooper (1808–66) undertook to revise the text of the 1841 Memorials of Cambridge, illustrated by the engraver John Le Keux (1783–1846), he was under the impression that 'only a slight amount of labour' would be imposed on him. However, this three-volume work was altered and modified so extensively that it may be considered as entirely re-written. Containing over 250 photographs, engravings and etchings, Volumes 1 and 2 of the work are a comprehensive guide to the Cambridge colleges, while Volume 3 is almost entirely concerned with the history of other landmarks throughout the city, such as the Fitzwilliam Museum, the Guildhall and the Botanic Garden. It was published in 1860, just six years before Cooper's death, and stands as a detailed and fully illustrated guide to Cambridge at that time. Volume 3 covers Sidney Sussex and Downing, the university offices, churches and other important buildings.
Memorials of Cambridge: Volume 3 jetzt bestellen!
Weitere Infos & Material
1. Sidney Sussex College; 2. Downing College; 3. The Senate-House; 4. The Schools; 5. University Library; 6. The Pitt Press; 7. The Fitzwilliam Museum; 8. The Woodwardian or Geological Museum; 9. The Mineralogical Museum; 10. The Anatomical Museum; 11. The Observatory; 12. The Botanic Garden; 13. The Castle; 14. The Guildhall; 15. The Town Gaol; 16. The Spinning House; 17. Addenbrooke's Hospital; 18. The Perse Grammar School; 19. The Old Charity Schools; 20. Almshouses; 21. Miscellaneous charities; 22. Scientific and literary institutions; 23. All Saints; 24. St Andrew the Great; 25. St Andrew the Less; 26. S. Benedict; 27. St Botolph; 28. S. Clement; 29. St. Edward; 30. St. Giles; 31. St. Mary the Great; 32. St. Mary the Less; 33. St. Michael; 34. St. Peter; 35. Holy Sepulchre; 36. Holy Trinity.